receive updates newsletter signup

financial transparency

no tax dollars used to fund bible history elective courses

Bible History elective courses are funded entirely by the charity and generosity of thousands of donors across the country. 

Charitable donations through Bible in the Schools, a 501(c)(3), cover the complete cost of the program, including Bible History teacher compensation, curriculum, professional development, and other resources. 

Bible in the Schools pledges to steward all funds with the highest level of integrity, accountability, and wise stewardship. Bible in the Schools will never sell or rent your information to other organizations or entities. Thank you for your generosity, partnership, and trust. 

Bible History teachers are funded entirely through private contributions from local individuals, businesses, faith-based entities, and foundations. No tax dollars are used to fund these for-credit, elective courses for public school students. Hamilton County Schools was reimbursed on August 3rd, 2020 for over $1.7 million for the complete costs of the county-wide Bible History program in 26 schools during the 2019-2020 academic year. Included in the annual reimbursement costs are: teacher salaries, all benefits, taxes, classroom supplies, robust year-round teacher professional development and legal training, and the costs of Hamilton County Schools' full-time Bible History Content Lead. For the 2020-2021 academic year, Bible in the Schools has committed to fully funding the cost of 28 Bible History programs spanning 15 ZIP codes in Hamilton County, Tennessee. Bible in the Schools is projected to reimburse Hamilton County for over $1.7 million for the county-wide Bible History program for the 2020-2021 academic year.

ANNUAL FINANCIAL AUDIT: Bible in the Schools is audited annually by an independent public accounting firm. The last annual financial audit was conducted in September, 2020

Form 990 - 2019 


  1. Mr. Bart Rolen, Chief Executive Officer, Southeastern Trust Company - Treasurer, Committee Chairman
  2. Mr. John Henegar, Principal, West Ridge Group PLLC Certified Public Accountants - Assistant Treasurer
  3. Mr. Douglas Brown, Financial Advisor, Senior Vice President, UBS Wealth Management
  4. Mr. Nick Decosimo, Managing Partner, Elliott Davis, LLC
  5. Mr. John Haddock, CFO, Transcard; Director, RockPoint Bank
  6. Mrs. Patsy Hazlewood, Member, Tennessee House of Representatives, District 27
  7. Mr. Joey Hogan, President, Covenant Logistics Group
  8. Mrs. Cathy Scott President, Bible in the Schools


  1. Mr. Ralph Mohney Former President, Bible in the Schools - Committee Chairman
  2. Mrs. Betsy Brown CEO, Pendleton Square Trust Company
  3. Mr. Franklin Farrow Co-Founder & Chief Operating Officer, Independent Healthcare Properties
  4. Mr. Rob Huffaker Practice Leader of Employee Benefits, McGriff Insurance Services
  5. Mr. Don Morton Attorney, Miller & Martin, PLLC
  6. Mr. Steve Frost President, Tuftco Corp.
  7. Mrs. Cathy Scott President, Bible in the Schools